(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.data-privacy-src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','https://www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-87732448-1', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');

Bach: St John Passion


James Gilchrist Evangelista
Neal Davies Christus
Sophie Bevan soprano arias & Ancilla
Iestyn Davies alto arias
Ed Lyon tenor arias
Roderick Williams bass arias & Pilatus

The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge
Academy of Ancient Music
Directed by Stephen Cleobury

Released 7 April 2017

2CD/SACD hybrid

SKU: KGS0018
 Download Available MUSIC  Spotify
Stephen Cleobury and the Choir of King’s College, Cambridge are joined by the Academy of Ancient Music in Bach’s much-loved St John Passion. Captured live in 2016 during Easter celebrations at the College, it features an all-star line-up of soloists who are renowned for their handling of the repertoire, including King’s alumnus James Gilchrist as the Evangelist and Neal Davies, Cardiff Singer of the World prize winner, as Jesus. The St John Passion presents the dramatic narrative with a concentrated sense of urgency, in contrast to the vast proportions of the St Matthew Passion. Many of the arias are deeply reflective and expressive, none more so than Es ist vollbracht!, in which the countertenor – Iestyn Davies – and the viola da gamba weave their melodies together in the most beguiling way.
St John Passion, BWV 245 (1724 edition)Bach, J. S.
1No 1 Chor: Herr, unser Herrscher (Chorus)09:25
2No 2 Rezitativ: Jesus ging mit seinen Jüngern (Evangelista, Christus, Chorus)02:25
3No 3 Choral: O große Lieb (Chorus)00:42
4No 4 Rezitativ: Auf daß das Wort erfüllet würde (Evangelista, Christus)01:05
5No 5 Choral: Dein Will gescheh, Herr Go , zugleich (Chorus)00:48
6No 6 Rezitativ: Die Schar aber und der Oberhauptmann (Evangelista)00:44
7No 7 Arie: Von den Stricken meiner Sünden (Alto)04:53
8No 8 Rezitativ: Simon Petrus aber folgete Jesu nach (Evangelista)00:13
9No 9 Arie: Ich folge dir gleichfalls (Soprano)03:56
10No 10 Rezitativ: Derselbige Jünger war dem Hohenpriester bekannt (Evangelista, Ancilla, Petrus, Christus, Servus)03:03
11No 11 Choral: Wer hat dich so geschlagen (Chorus)01:27
12No 12 Rezitativ: Und Hannas sandte ihn gebunden (Evangelista, Chorus, Petrus, Servus)02:14
13No 13 Arie: Ach, mein Sinn (Tenor)02:34
14No 14 Choral: Petrus, der nicht denkt zurück (Chorus)01:16
15No 15 Choral: Christus, der uns selig macht (Chorus)00:58
16No 16 Rezitativ: Da führeten sie Jesum (Evangelista, Pilatus, Chorus, Christus)04:23
17No 17 Choral: Ach großer König (Chorus)01:19
18 No 18 Rezitativ: Da sprach Pilatus zu ihm (Evangelista, Pilatus, Christus, Chorus)01:59
19 No 19 Arioso: Betrachte, meine Seel (Bass)02:14
20 No 20 Arie: Erwäge, wie sein blutgefärbter Rücken (Tenor)08:25
1 No 21 Rezitativ: Und die Kriegsknechte flochten eine Krone (Evangelista, Chorus, Pilatus, Christus)06:02
2 No 22 Choral: Durch dein Gefängnis, Go es Sohn (Chorus)00:51
3 No 23 Rezitativ: Die Jüden aber schrieen und sprachen (Evangelista, Chorus, Pilatus)04:10
4 No 24 Arie: Eilt, ihr angefochtnen Seelen (Bass)04:21
5 No 25 Rezitativ: Allda kreuzigten sie ihn (Evangelista, Chorus, Pilatus)02:11
6 No 26 Choral: In meines Herzens Grunde (Chorus)00:51
 7 No 27 Rezitativ: Die Kriegsknechte aber (Evangelista, Chorus, Christus)03:39
 8 No 28 Choral: Er nahm alles wohl in acht (Chorus)01:00
 9 No 29 Rezitativ: Und von Stund an nahm sie der Jünger (Evangelista, Christus)01:17
10 No 30 Arie: Es ist vollbracht (Alto)04:44
11 No 31 Rezitativ: Und neiget das Haupt (Evangelista)00:27
12 No 32 Arie: Mein teurer Heiland, laß dich fragen (Bass)04:13
13 No 33 Rezitativ: Und siehe da, der Vorhang im Tempel zerriß (Evangelista)00:26
14 No 34 Arioso: Mein Herz, indem die ganze Welt (Tenor)00:56
15 No 35 Arie: Zerfließe, mein Herze (Soprano)06:35
16 No 36 Rezitativ: Die Jüden aber, dieweil es der Rüs ag war (Evangelista)02:06
17 No 37 Choral: O hilf, Christe, Go es Sohn (Chorus)00:57
18 No 38 Rezitativ: Darnach bat Pilatum Joseph von Arimathia (Evangelista)02:06
19 No 39 Chor: Ruht wohl, ihr heiligen Gebeine (Chorus)06:32
20 No 40 Choral: Ach Herr, laß dein lieb Engelein (Chorus)01:56
 Total playing time109:23

Bach St John Passion Booklet Cover

Recorded at 96kHz 24-bit PCM 5.1 surround sound in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, by kind permission of the Provost and Fellows, 21 and 22 March 2016.

Producer, Editor, CD mastering  Simon Kiln
Recording Engineer  Arne Akselberg
Mixing Engineer  Arne Akselberg
Technical Engineer  Richard Hale
Assistant Engineer Connor Hughes
SACD Mastering Engineer  Simon Gibson

We use cookies to improve our site and your experience Accept