Easter from Kings: 2021 Collection (audio album download)


The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge
Dónal McCann organ

Daniel Hyde conductor

Released 26 March 2021

Available as an mp3 download and up to 48kHz/24bit in widely compatible Studio Master audio files.

Please note that this is an audio album. For the BBC television broadcast Easter from King’s, go to our video downloads.

SKU: KGS0059

A collection of Easter music sung sung by the Choir of King’s College Cambridge in the famous Chapel and made available as an audio album for the first time.  Taken from the BBC’s 2020 Easter broadcast, these recordings capture the Choir of King’s College, Cambridge under the direction of Daniel Hyde, performing for his first Easter from King’s since taking up the post of Director of Music.

Highlights include a selection of movements from Charles Wood’s St Mark Passion, as well as much-loved Easter music by Bob Chilcott, Bainton, Casals and Duruflé.

The recordings in this collection are made available at better-than-CD quality and have been specially remastered.

Easter from King’s: 2021 Collection (Live)
1 St. Mark Passion: Hymn: The Heavenly Word proceeding forth 2:28 Charles Wood
2 Quatre Motets sur des thèmes grégoriens, Op. 10: IV. Tantum ergo 2:26 Maurice Duruflé
3 St. Mark Passion: Hymn: Lord, when we bow before thy throne 1:52 Charles Wood
4 O vos omnes 3:16 Pablo Casals
5 St. Mark Passion: Hymn: My God, I love Thee 4:12 Charles Wood
6 Were you there? 4:39 Traditional arr. Richard Lloyd
7 And I saw a new heaven 5:20 Edgar Bainton
8 Now the green blade riseth 4:36 Bob Chilcott
9 Jesus Christ is Risen Today (Easter Hymn) 2:57 Traditional arr. John Rutter
Total time 32 minutes


Track 5 soloist: Anita Monserrat

Track 6 soloist: Joshua O’Neill

Recorded at 48kHz 24-bit PCM in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, by kind permission of the Provost and Scholars, 13 December 2019.

Released by agreement with BBC Studios.