Organ Works (Download)


Stephen Cleobury organ

Released 4 May 2015

 Available as a cd

This album brings together the first ever surround sound recordings of the great Harrison & Harrison organ set within the chapel of King’s College, Cambridge. Performing three popular virtuosic works, Stephen Cleobury, Director of Music at King’s College, demonstrates the power and flexibility of this great instrument.

The recording begins with Liszt’s dark-hued Fantasy and Fugue on “Ad nos, ad salutarem undam”, S.259, which is based on a theme from Act 1 of Meyerbeer’s grand opera Le Prophète. The piece lasts almost 30 minutes and is in three sections: the Fantasy, Adagio and Fugue.

Julius Reubke’s magnificent Organ Sonata on the 94th Psalm explores the theme of judgement. Considered one of the pinnacles of Romantic repertoire, and thought to have been inspired by Liszt’s Fantasy and Fugue, this piece is a test of both the organ’s versatility and the player’s pedal technique. The album concludes with Mendelssohn’s Organ Sonata No. 6 in D minor. Based on Bach’s chorale Vater unser im Himmelreich, this piece demonstrates Mendelssohn’s consummate mastery of organ textures.

Originally built in the 19th century to replace an earlier instrument, the organ has been modernised several times and underwent major restoration in 2016.

**** “A rousing and inspiring performance” – Audiophile Audition

“Outstanding performances by a great musician” – Gramophone Magazine

Fantasy and Fugue on “Ad nos, ad salutarem undam”, S.259
1 i. Moderato – Allegro – Vivace 09:50 Lizst, Franz
2 ii. Adagio 08:34 Lizst, Franz
3 iii. Allegro deciso – Fuga (Allegretto con moto) 11:19 Lizst, Franz
Sonata No 6 in D Minor (Op 65, No 6)
4 i. Choral – Andante sostenuto – Allegro molto 08:53 Mendelssohn, Felix
5 ii. Fuga 02:45 Mendelssohn, Felix
6 iii. Finale: Andante 02:47 Mendelssohn, Felix
Sonata on the 94th Psalm in C minor
7 i. Grave – Larghetto – Allegro con fuoco – Grave 11:45 Reubke, Julius
8 ii. Adagio – Lento 06:10 Reubke, Julius
9 iii. (Fugue) Allegro 07:13 Reubke, Julius
Total playing time – 69:16


Recorded at 96kHz 24-bit PCM 5.1 surround-sound in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, by kind permission of the Provost and Fellows, 21-23 May 2013.

Producer & Editor  Simon Kiln
Recording Engineer  Jonathan Allen
Technical Engineer  Richard Hale
SACD Mastering Engineer  Andrew Walter