Proud Songsters: English Solo Song


Michael Chance | Tim Mead | Lawrence Zazzo
Ruairi Bowen | James Gilchrist | Andrew Staples
Gerald Finley | Ashley Riches | Mark Stone

Simon Lepper piano

Released 19 March 2021


SKU: KGS0052
 Download Available

“A luxury CD of infinite delights, which I cannot recommend highly enough.” – Opera Today

“a sonorous example of both the best of English art song and the impeccable musical traditions of King’s College” – British Music Society

Proud Songsters is a journey through the distinctive musical genre of English Song. This collection of 20 songs – familiar and lesser known – are performed by some of the finest former members of the Choir of King’s College, Cambridge with one of this generation’s most exceptional pianists.

Each of the nine alumni featured on this album sang as young adults at King’s, alongside pianist Simon Lepper, a graduate of King’s. The songs included on the album span settings of Shakespeare songs, those of prominent 20th Century composers Vaughan Williams, Britten, Finzi, Clarke and Howells through to contemporary works by Jonathan Dove, Iain Bell and Celia Harper. The album includes a specially-commissioned essay on the works by Stephen Banfield, and the CD includes a special bonus track sung by Gerald Finley and Christopher Keyte.

1 To Gratiana Dancing and Singing William Denis Browne Ashley Riches
2 The Salley Gardens arr. Benjamin Britten Tim Mead
3 Linden Lea Ralph Vaughan Williams Ashley Riches
4 The Sigh Gerald Finzi Andrew Staples
5 My love gave me an apple Celia Harper Michael Chance
6 Fear no more the heat o’ the sun Roger Quilter James Gilchrist
7 Come to me in my dreams Frank Bridge Mark Stone
8 I wandered lonely as a cloud Eric Thiman Ruairi Bowen
All You Who Sleep Tonight Jonathan Dove
9 VII. God’s love Lawrence Zazzo
10 XII. Soon Lawrence Zazzo
11 XIII. All you who sleep tonight Lawrence Zazzo
12 The Seal Man Rebecca Clarke James Gilchrist
13 I will go with my father a-ploughing Ivor Gurney Ashley Riches
14 Proud Songsters Gerald Finzi Gerald Finley
15 King David Herbert Howells Tim Mead
16 Since she whom I loved Benjamin Britten Andrew Staples
17 Sleep Peter Warlock Mark Stone
18 Feste (Come away, death) Iain Bell Lawrence Zazzo
19 Go, lovely rose Roger Quilter Mark Stone
20 Silent Noon Ralph Vaughan Williams Gerald Finley
Total playing time – 65:59


Recorded at 192kHz 24-bit PCM at All Saints’ Church, East Finchley, London, on 29 October 2019 and 10 February 2020.

Producer & Editor Benjamin Sheen
Engineer Dave Rowell
Mixing Benjamin Sheen
Mastering Simon Gibson

Consultant Claire Long

Label management Benjamin Sheen