The Music of King’s: Choral Favourites from Cambridge (Download)


The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge
Directed by Stephen Cleobury

Released 22 March 2019

 Available as a cd

“This really is very special indeed.”
Aled Jones, Classic FM

“A fitting tribute to [Stephen Cleobury’s] legacy”
#1 Most Coveted Album 2019 – Classical MPR

The Music of King’s: Choral Favourites From Cambridge is a celebration of choral music throughout the ages and around the world. Its track list spans more than 400 years of composition, with compositions from countries including Germany, France, Great Britain, Italy, Norway, America and China.

For this latest album on the Choir’s own label, Stephen Cleobury has chosen to present a selection psalms, folksongs and other exceptional works that have stood the test of time alongside some of the Choir’s contemporary favourites. Highlights include Ola Gjeilo’s setting of Ubi caritas, Antonio Lotti’s Crucifixus and James Erb’s arrangement of the much-loved American Folksong Shenandoah.

The pieces we have chosen for this album reflect something, though not all, of  the breadth of the Choir’s repertoire. That they should be chiefly liturgical is natural, since the Choir’s main work consists in singing at the daily chapel services in term time. The new ecumenical understanding which has grown up during my working life permits now the singing of the mass and canticles in Latin, anthems in that language having found their way into service lists even earlier. This enables us to look to the continent of Europe to add to the great inherited tradition of British music. We have also included some of our more rare excursions into non-liturgical and secular repertoire, here represented by American and Chinese items.
Stephen Cleobury

1 Cantate Domino 2:09 Claudio Monteverdi
2 Puer natus in Bethlehem 2:48 Samuel Scheidt
3 Magnificat primi toni a8 5:31 Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
4 Crucifixus a8 3:10 Antonio Lotti
5 Pie Jesu (Requiem) 3:17 Gabriel Fauré
6 Ave verum corpus 2:44 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
7 Panis angelicus 3:35 César Franck, arr. John Rutter
8 My soul, there is a country 3:55 C. Hubert H. Parry
9 Psalm 23 (The Lord is my shepherd) 2:34 John Goss
10 Psalm 130 (Out of the deep) 2:49 Henry Walford Davies
11 Psalm 121 (I will lift up mine eyes) 2:33 Henry Walford Davies
12 The Lord is my shepherd 4:44 Lennox Berkeley
13 Ubi caritas 3:02 Ola Gjeilo
14 Agnus Dei (Mass for Double Choir) 4:06 Frank Martin
15 O magnum mysterium 5:59 Morten Lauridsen
16 The Road Home 3:27 Stephen Paulus
17 Amazing Grace 2:57 Traditional, arr. Stephen Cleobury
18 Mo Li Hua (The Jasmine Flower Song) 3:41 Chinese traditional, arr. Stephen Cleobury
19 Shenandoah 3:29 American Folksong, arr. James Erb
Total playing time – 66:25


KGS0034 Booklet Thumbnail

All tracks recorded at 96kHz 24-bit PCM in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, by kind permission of the Provost and Scholars, 25 April & 28 July 2017, and 10-11 January & 23-24 April 2018.

Producers Benjamin Sheen, Simon Kiln *
Editors Benjamin Sheen, Simon Kiln *
Engineers Benjamin Sheen, Jonathan Allen *
Assistant Engineer Stefano Civetta *
Mastering Benjamin Sheen
Language Coach Gao Zhang *

* Track 18