(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.data-privacy-src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','https://www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-87732448-1', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');

Evensong Live 2016 (Download)


The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge
Douglas Tang & Tom Etheridge organ
Directed by Stephen Cleobury

Released 8 July 2016

 Available as a cd

The tracks on this album were recorded live during Evensong services in the 2014-2015 academic year, as part of the College’s regular Chapel webcasts. This second collection of treasures provides a snapshot of the ensemble during a fleeting moment in its five-century history, and a glimpse of the daily music making that is so integral to life at King’s.

“Afficionados of often challenging Anglican Church music should not hesitate” – Classic FM

**** – BBC Music Magazine

1 At the round earth’s imagined corners 07:01 Parry, Sir Charles Hubert Hastings
2 Morning, Communion and Evening Service in G, Op. 81: Magnificat 04:10 Stanford, Sir Charles Villiers
3 Valiant-for-truth 05:43 Vaughan Williams, Ralph
4 Jubilate Deo 03:36 Walton, Sir William
5 Iehova, quam multi sunt hostes mei 06:29 Purcell, Henry ed. Bruce Wood
6 This is the record of John 04:09 Gibbons, Orlando ed. Peter le Huray
7 Laudate nomen Domini 01:57 Tye, Christopher arr. Edmund H Fellowes
8 Drop, drop, slow tears 02:30 Leighton, Kenneth
9 Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis “Collegium Sancti Johannis Cantabrigiense”: Magnificat 04:19 Tippett, Sir Michael
10 O sacrum convivium 04:10 Messiaen, Olivier
11 Magnificat and Nunc Dimitis “Gloucester Service”: Magnificat 06:45 Howells, Herbert
12 Twas in the year that King Uzziah died 06:33 Benjamin, George
13 Magnificamus 03:30 Grier, Francis
14 Vertue 03:14 Weir, Judith
15 Te Deum and Jubilate “Collegium Regale”: Te Deum 08:54 Howells, Herbert
Total playing time – 73:00


Recorded at 44.1kHz 24-bit PCM stereo in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, by kind permission of the Provost and Fellows.

Recording dates
2014: 29 April (Track 11), 11 May (Track 13), 16 May (Track 10), 24 May (Tracks 5 & 9), 25 May (Track 1), 1 June (Track 4), and 24 June (Track 6).
2015: 16 January (Track 7), 20 January (Tracks 12 & 15), 24 February (Track 14), 12 March (Track 8), 8 May (Track 2), and 7 June (Track 3).

Producer & Engineer  Benjamin Sheen
Mastering  Benjamin Sheen

We use cookies to improve our site and your experience Accept