The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge, releases a selection of arrangements and original works for choir and orchestra by John Rutter under the direction of Daniel Hyde, featuring Britten Sinfonia.

Released 24 November 2023

Available as mp3 download and 192kHz/24bit (Studio Master).

SKU: KGS0069

The album joins the label’s other critically and commercially successful recordings, which continue to be streamed by thousands of listeners around the world, including In The Bleak Midwinter which was released in 2021.

RUTTER ORCHESTRAL CAROLS includes beautiful orchestral arrangements of well-known favourites such as Silent Night and O Holy Night as well as Rutter’s original carols All bells in paradise and All the stars looked down, which is dedicated to the late Sir Stephen Cleobury.

“It was a pleasure to record a handful of John’s carols, some old, some new, in these colourful orchestrations. Both John Rutter and the Britten Sinfonia are long term friends and partners with King’s College Choir; hopefully these new tracks will add a bit of magic to people’s Christmas this year.”

– Daniel Hyde, Director of Music, King’s College

1. Silent Night | Grüber, arr. Rutter
2. All the stars looked down| Rutter
3. Child in a manger | Celtic traditional, arr. Rutter
4. Sans Day Carol | Cornish traditional, arr. Rutter
5. O Holy Night | Adolphe Adam, arr. Rutter
6. Blake’s lullaby | Rutter
7. All bells in paradise | Rutter

All tracks were recorded in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, June 2023.