Traditional Christmas Carols from King’s


Digital compilation. Released 9 December 2022.


The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge releases a selection of traditional carols for Christmas 2022.

For music lovers around the world, Christmas carols capture the essence of the festive season. The album features a carefully compiled programme of popular congregational Christmas carols, including such favourites as Once in Royal David’s City, O Little Town of Bethlehem and O Holy Night, all performed and recorded by the choir in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge.

  1. Once In Royal David’s City (Desc. by Stephen Cleobury) | Henry John Gauntlett
  2. Adam Lay Ybounden | Boris Ord
  3. The Holly and the Ivy (Arr. Henry Walford Davies) | Traditional
  4. God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen (Arr. David Willcocks) | Traditional
  5. Herefordshire Carol (Arr. Ralph Vaughan Williams) | Traditional
  6. I Saw Three Ships (Arr. Philip Ledger) | Traditional
  7. Unto Us Is Born a Son (Arr. David Willcocks) (Live) | Anonymous
  8. Sussex Carol (Arr. Philip Ledger) | Traditional
  9. Ding! Dong! Merrily on High (Arr. Charles Wood) | Traditional
  10. O Little Town of Bethlehem (Arr. Ralph Vaughan Williams, Desc. Thomas Armstrong) | Traditional
  11. Away In a Manger (Arr. David Willcocks) | William Kirkpatrick
  12. In Dulci Jubilo (Arr. Robert Lucas de Pearsall, Ed. Reginald Jacques) | Anonymous
  13. While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks By Night (Desc. Nicholas Marston & Daniel Hyde) | Anonymous
  14. Gabriel’s Message (Arr. Edgar Pettman) | Traditional
  15. Of the Father’s Heart Begotten (Arr. David Willcocks) | Traditional
  16. What Sweeter Music | John Rutter
  17. O Holy Night (Arr. John Rutter) | Adolphe Adam
  18. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Arr. David Willcocks) | John Francis Wade
  19. In the Bleak Midwinter | Harold Darke
  20. All Bells in Paradise | John Rutter
  21. Joy To the World (Arr. Hugh Keyte & Andrew Parrott) | William Holford
  22. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (Arr. David Willcocks) | Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

KGS0068-D | 0822231706854
2.0 LPCM 24-bit 96kHZ

Recorded in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge
December 2010, March 2014, July & December 2018, December 2020

Producers: Simon Kiln (Tracks 1–5, 7–12, 14, 16, 18–22) and Benjamin Sheen (Tracks 6, 13, 15, 17)

Engineers: Arne Akselberg (Tracks 1–5, 7–12, 14, 16, 18–22) and Benjamin Sheen (Tracks 6, 13, 15, 17)